NDCC 44th Annual General Meeting

The NDCC’s AGM was held this year on Sept 5th, 2012.  A copy of the Minutes can be read by clicking the “Continue Reading” link.


Minutes of the Forty-Fourth Annual General Meeting of the Norwich District Curling Club held at the club on Wednesday, September 5, 2012.


The President, Mary Hoskins called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Joanne Reeves acted as recorder for the meeting.


Present were: Directors: 8

Members: 8


The minutes of the Forty-third Annual Meeting were read aloud by the Secretary/Treasurer, Joanne Reeves.

UPON MOTION By Dave Topham, seconded by Mark Vandenborre and unanimously approved, it was resolved that the minutes of the Forty-third Annual General Meeting be, and hereby are, accepted as printed.

The President, Mary Hoskins, presented the Director’s Report for the 2011 – 2012 season. She stated that it was another successful year for the NDCC, highlighting that this was the first year the Club offered a ‘Learn to Curl’ school, held many successful bonspiels and the annual Dinner and Auction on March 31, 2012. Leaky pipes were discovered when the ice was put in in the fall of 2011, leading to the brine header system replacement in June 2012. She mentioned the hiring of new staff for the upcoming curling season; Cheryl Polfliet as custodian, Joanne Reeves as Secretary/Treasurer, and James Schaafsma as Ice Technician.

UPON MOTION By Wayne Welsh, seconded by Carol Clifford and unanimously approved, the Director’s Report was accepted as presented.


 Joanne Reeves presented the financial statements for the year ending April 30, 2012, that had been prepared by BDO Dun Woody LLP, Norwich branch.

 Some discussion took place.

UPON MOTION By Dave Topham, seconded by Cheryl Polfliet and unanimously approved, the Financial Statements were accepted as presented.

UPON MOTION By Allan Hill, seconded by Tom Smith and unanimously approved to appoint Brent VanParys, BDO Dun Woody to review the financials for the coming year.


The President, Mary Hoskins presented the current slate of directors as follows:

  • Wayne Welsh, completing a three-year term and ELIGIBLE for re-election.
  • Cheryl Polfliet, completing the 2nd year of a three-year term.
  • Mary Hoskins, Carol Clifford, Dave Topham and Tom Smith completing their 1st. year of a three-year term.
  • Kathy Sayeau, Donna Jean Graham, and Mark Vandenborre beginning their 1st of a three-year term are:


A call for nominations to fill three positions of Director for a 3-year term was tabled as follows:

Wayne Welsh by Dave Armstrong

Pat Gray by Dave Topham

Brian Knott by Rick Gray

UPON MOTION By Dave Topham, seconded by Carol Clifford and unanimously approved, it was resolved that nominations be closed.

Pat Gray and Brian Knott declined the nomination.

Wayne Welsh elected to a 3-year term.


This leaves three director positions open. The President, Mary Hoskins stressed the need to approach members individually to seek to fill the vacant director positions.


The executive for the upcoming year consists of the following:

  • Cheryl Polfliet, President
  • Mary Hoskins, Past President
  • Tom Smith, 1st Vice-President.




Dave Topham stated that he had invited James Schaafsma to attend this evening’s meeting in person; however, he was absent. As Ice Technician, he will be encouraged to attend future board meetings.

Mary Hoskins mentioned that the Club is looking for volunteer(s) to co-ordinate the making of the turkey pies in the coming year as Betty Ryder is stepping down. This has been a successful fundraiser for the Club.

UPON MOTION By Brian Knott, seconded by Dave Topham and unanimously approved the meeting was adjourned.



Mary Hoskins, President

Joanne Reeves, Secretary/Treasurer








Comments are closed.