Events Recap

NDCC News April 4, 2018
The last week of curling in Norwich started off with a full house of Monday daytime curlers with friends from Woodstock, Tillsonburg and Delhi coming to join them. This `Funspiel` was just that, a lot of fun and friendship with some curlers coming back to find their brooms and shoes after several years away and realizing they hadn’t forgotten how to throw a rock! Coming out on top and winning cash sponsored by Armstrong Acres was Jack Lebold, Mark VandenBorre, Anne Kemp and Bill VanWyk. Completing the top three were the teams of Jim McElhone, Bill Meek, Bill Freeman, Norm Sheidow followed by Richard Learn, Tom Smith, and Kerry and Elaine Bushell. Huge thanks to Dave and Judy Armstrong for organizing this fun closing day.

Tuesday saw the last night for the Choose Your Own League. The championship playoff for this was between Donna Jean Graham’s rink of Dave Janssens, Shaun Swanton and Larry Brady against Jon and Catherine Peter, with Mike Knox and Anne Romme. The Graham rink prevailed by stealing a few ends and getting out in front, making it hard for the Peter’s rink to mount a come back. The evening finished with an enjoyable potluck meal.

Continue reading Events Recap

Annual Norwich Curling Club Banquet and Auction

Our annual Banquet and Auction is coming up on Saturday April 14.

Tickets are still available – $30 per ticket – if you need tickets please get in touch with Heather Bertrand.

Donations for the auction will be accepted until the day of the auction.
Please drop donations off at the club (if you have a key) or at the Norwich Vet Clinic.

Volunteers are still needed to move items to the community centre and to help out during the auction.
If you are able to help out please let Heather or Brian Cowbrough at the Vet Clinic know.


Closing Spiel

Hi everyone!
We are having our Closing Spiel on the evening of Wednesday March 28 and we would like you to join us.
Curling starts at 7pm and the entry fee is $15.  There will be lots of great prizes for all!
The theme is Baseball Spring Training so wear your best baseball gear and get into the last spiel of the year.
For more information please email Chris Fordham at

Men’s Open Bonspiel – 2018 Champions

NDCC SIGN Champs Men’s Open FEB 17 18

Community Spiel

community spiel-2018

Curling News

Women from Milton, Burlington, Ancaster, Brantford, London, Ingersoll and Tillsonburg converged on Norwich last Saturday to participate in the Ladies Open Bonspiel at Norwich District Curling Club. A full day of curling was enjoyed with an Olympic themed lunch between games. Overall winner of the two draws was Becky Pipes team from Burlington.

High point winner in the first draw was Lois Lindsay’s team from London/Ilderton, followed by Bev Henri’s team from Brant and our own Sheila VanYmeren, Cheryl Polfliet, Carol Clifford, and Jennifer Grant.

The second draw saw Diane Dykstra with Tara Gray and mates from Brant Curling club take second and the Pitblado team from Brantford CC including Allison Fransen grab third place. It was a very busy day with huge thanks to our sponsors Corwic Farms, Norwich Veterinary Service, Arn-Locke Funeral home, Shoppers Drug Mart and Miles Flowers, Burford for their help in making the Ladies Open a great success. Our conveners Mary Hoskins, Marlene Learn, along with chefs Brian and Linda Cox were instrumental in this success. Thank you.

Our little Rocker program continues along each Wednesday after school, with skill development, games and fun activities on the ice. They will be taking on the adults soon with their awesome flexibility in the hack and smooth delivery, something we adults continually strive for!

This Saturday features our first annual Norwich Community Commerce bonspiel. We have invited local businesses to put in a team, no experience necessary, to try the sport of curling. There is always renewed interest in curling in an Olympic year, and this is a chance to showcase our unique curling facility to the community. Instruction prior to the game is included along with lunch for a nominal fee. Pre- registration with Chris Fordham is required, please call/text 519-535-3972 email Interested but can’t commit a team?? Come on out and watch, spectators always welcome. See you there!

Arctic Ice 2018 Mixed Spiel!


1st Draw Friday Evening Winners!

..And the winners for the 1st draw on Friday Evenings!

Congrats to Dave Janssens, Marlene Learn, Dick Learn and Al Povoledo (absent).

Norwich Gazette Newsletter Preview!

Here is what will be seen in the Norwich Gazette this week:

Recent activities at the Norwich District Curling Club saw a tier 55 bonspiel sponsored by the Graham Family bring 12 teams together for a fun day of curling. After a wonderful country noon hour meal convened by Donna Jean Graham, the last games of the day saw the Harley Jackson team from Tillsonburg emerge as winner of the first draw and Wayne Welsh skipping his Simcoe team to victory in the second draw. This bonspiel was co-ordinated by Cliff Bertrand who also sponsored under the banner of Oxford Signs and Graphics. Huge thanks to Cliff and Donna Jean for their work on this bonspiel.

In league play,Thursday night winners are the team of Jaycee and Chris Toole, with Justin Hoogstraten and Jennifer Grant. Taking home top prize on Friday nights mixed draw were Richard and Marlene Learn, with Dave Janssens and Al Povoledo completing the team. Leading the race on Tuesday nights is Chris Fordham in a tight race with Donna Jean Graham.

Second draws are starting before Christmas with new curlers being welcomed to “the sport for all ages”. Daytime curlers are finishing off with a noon hour potluck and social time. Good curling!

Congrats Thurs Night 1st Draw Winners

Congrats to the 1st Draw Thursday Night Winners: Jennifer Grant, Justin Hoogstraten, Jacey Toole and Chris Toole!

Also pertaining to the Thursday night draw, the schedule for the 2nd draw for Thursday night + spares has been posted to the Members Only Page. If you’d like to take a look at it, are a member, but don’t have the password, contact your Thursday Night Convener or the Webmaster.